RSS

Digital Natives

10 Feb

   I have to think about my new students, my lesson plans and the techniques I will use this year in the classroom. After selecting the contents and checking my students´lists I realize that one of the most important things to take into account is that all my students are DIGITAL NATIVES (Mark Presnky) .

But what is a Digital Native? Most of us have met them! They are exposed to an environment which is media rich, fast, dynamic, instant. They are engaged and motivated by the use of digital technology.

They can also access to a lot of multimedia sources. They are  multitask students who can pay attention to different things at the same time. They need to “see” or “listen” to understand what they are reading, they process the information by images or sounds instead of written text. They can interact to many and they feel comfortable if they are exposed “digitally” to thousands of other DN by the use of social media.

Another characteristic of the DN students is that they need an instant reward. They are used to instant access to information as well as instant gratification. For them, learning should be relevant, instantly useful and fun.

So, this year I not only have to think about lists, contents, songs and worksheet, but also how to keep on introducing digital activities in my daily classroom activities.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 10 de February de 2012 in Education & Technology

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Digital Natives

Leave a comment